Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional ITS Architecture covers a 7,112 square mile area in the southwestern corner of Pennsylvania, about one/sixth of the state's total land area. It includes the Pittsburgh metropolitan area in Allegheny County and nine surrounding counties. The population, more than 2.6 million in the U.S. 2010 Census, makes this region the largest metropolitan area in both the Ohio River Valley and the 13-state Appalachian Region. Ranked against state populations, the southwestern Pennsylvania region would be the 36th largest in the U.S.  

Settlement is more dense in the Greater Pittsburgh area / Allegheny County and the Beaver/Monongahela River Valleys. Surrounding counties are generally rural in character. The lingering effect of general population decline related to steel industry and manufacturing job losses remains a factor in current population trends, although communities on the borders of Allegheny County with good access to Pittsburgh are experiencing significant redistributive growth. 

Much of the region sits within the Appalachian Plateau. The region has been considered a transportation gateway from the Atlantic coast to the American Midwest - its highways, railroads and rivers still move a considerable portion of the nation's freight. The region is known for its many bridges, made necessary because of rugged terrain heavily dissected by deep valleys and steep hillsides. The SWPA region is bordered to the west by West Virginia and Ohio and to the south by West Virginia and Maryland. Foothills of the Appalachian Mountains form the eastern boundary; the northern boundary is loosely marked by a higher elevation glaciated plateau.  

The region is comprised of 10 counties served by three PennDOT Engineering Districts. The PennDOT Districts manage a state-owned highway network of 7097 road-miles and 5296 bridges. The local roadway network consists of 16929.31 road-miles and 1364 bridges. Local governments in Pennsylvania provide the bulk of traffic incident services as well as ownership and management of 100% of the region's traffic signals. The SPC region includes 548 municipalities and about 2800 traffic signals. 

Time Frame

2016 - 2040

Geographic Scope

The architecture's geographic boundary coincides with the 10-county metropolitan area served by the Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission, the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for the federally-defined metropolitan region. ITS planning is coordinated with the PennDOT-defined Northwest Region to the north and Southern Alleghenies Region to the east. West Virginia and Ohio are SPC's planning partners to the west and south, respectively. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (Central Offices in Harrisburg, PA) is responsible for planning statewide ITS services and integrating services across region boundaries. The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission develops and coordinates ITS services for the region's major east-west travel corridor - the tolled Turnpike Mainline (I-76). Apart from the Turnpike facilities ITS services are available predominately in the (metropolitan) urban core; there are few active or proposed ITS services crossing the region's borders. 

The region is served by three PennDOT Engineering Districts (Districts 11-0 and 12-0, and part of District 10-0) covering the ten counties.  

PennDOT District 10-0 (PennDOT D10) - serves Armstrong, Butler and Indiana Counties. 
PennDOT District 11-0 (PennDOT D11) - serves Allegheny, Beaver, and Lawrence Counties. 
PennDOT District 12-0 (PennDOT D12) - serves Fayette, Greene, Washington, and Westmoreland Counties. 

The City of Pittsburgh, as the owner of many of the region's highly-traveled transportation assets, is also an important regional stakeholder.  

Regional transit agencies representing each of the region's counties are among the most active ITS participants.

Service Scope

Statewide ITS Architecture coordinated with PennDOT Central Offices. Proposed State TMC. Some existing field devices. Information System Provider, Commercial Vehicle Administration, Emergency Management, Incident Management through PEMA and the Pennsylvania State Police, and Archived Data Management. Coordination with Pennsylvania Dept of Homeland Security. 

Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission. Toll Administration, Information System Provider, Traffic Incident Management, Emergency Management. 

PennDOT Districts. 
The primary TMC for the region is operated by PennDOT D11 from Collier Twp in Allegheny County and serves most ITS needs for both the district and beyond, including the D10 and D12 geographic areas. Traffic Management, Traffic Incident Management, Information Service Provider, Emergency Management and Archived Data Management.  

Municipalities. Traffic Management, Traffic Incident Management, Emergency Management. 
City of Pittsburgh. Traffic Management, Traffic Incident Management, Emergency Management, Parking Management, Information Services Provider, Archived Data Management. 
Cranberry Township. The only existing municipal traffic management center outside the City of Pittsburgh. 

Transit Management. 18 organizations; largest (by far) is Port Authority of Allegheny County. Fixed route and shared-ride services. Types (name them). 

Other: Allegheny County Airport Authority (Greater Pittsburgh International Airport); Port Facilities; Transportation Management Associations; SPC. 

Region Traveler Information System.